What is Wrong With the World? Me.

Colossians 1:19-22

For it was the Father’s good pleasure for all the fullness to dwell in Him, and through Him to reconcile all things to Himself, having made peace through the blood of His cross; through Him, I say, whether things on earth or things in heaven.

And although you were formerly alienated and hostile in mind, engaged in evil deeds, yet He has now reconciled you in His fleshly body through death, in order to preent you before Him holy and blameless and beyond reproach.

‘If God’s so powerful and good, how come bad stuff happens?’

You’re not asking the question properly. Here’s how you ask that question properly:

‘How on earth can a holy and righteous God know what I did and thought and said on yesterday and not kill me in my sleep last night?’

You ask it that way and we can talk. But until you ask the question that way, you don’t understand the issue. Until you ask it that way, you believe the problem is ‘out there’. Until you ask the question that way, you believe that there are somehow, some individuals who in and of themselves deserve something other than the wrath of Almighty God.

Until you ask me the question that way; until you flip the script and ask the question this way and say, ‘Why is it we are here today, why has He not consumed and devoured each and every one of us, why, why O God, does Your judgement and Your wrath tarry?’

When you ask it that way, you understand the issue. When you ask it the other way, you believe in the supremacy of man: ‘How dare God not employ his power on behalf of almighty man?’ You flip the question around and you believe in the supremacy of Christ.

The problem is – me.

The problem is that I do not acknowledge the supremacy of Christ in truth.

The problem is I start with me as the measure of all things.

The problem is I judge God as to how well he carries out my agenda for the world.

And I believe in the supremacy of me in truth.

And as a result, I want a god who is omnipotent and not sovereign – if I have a god who is omnipotent and not sovereign, I can wield his power, but if I have a God who is both omnipotent and sovereign, I am at His mercy.

Who am I? The crowning glory of the creation of God, knit together in my mother’s womb.

Why am I here? To bring glory and honour to the Lord Jesus Christ.

What is wrong with the world? Me.

And it could have appeared that there was some question of His justice; someone, somewhere, could have asked:

‘God, how can you claim to be righteous when you did not crush Moses, the murderer? You did not crush Abraham – the liar; You did not crush David – the adulterer. How, O God?’

There was a moment in time where some of those questions could have been legitimately asked, but there came a day when God crushed and killed His Son and satisfied His wrath in order that He may be both just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus Christ.

Is that enough to cover Adam’s sin? Was that enough for Moses’ sin? Was that enough for Abraham’s sin? Can you hear the rhetorical questions from Calvary? Was that enough for your sin? Was that enough for you to recognise the supremacy of Christ in truth as it relates to redemption? There was nothing else that could have been done that would have allowed God to be just and our justifier. In His humiliation and His exaltation the question is answered: How, can what is wrong be made right?

What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.
What can make me whole again? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.
Oh, precious is the flow that makes me white as snow;
no other fount I know, nothing but the blood of Jesus.
There is a fountain filled with blood drawn from Emmanuel’s veins,
and sinners plunged beneath that flood lose all their guilty stains.

How can what is wrong be made right? The spotless, sinless lamb of God was crushed, rejected and killed to pay a debt that He did not owe, on behalf of sinners who can never pay Him back.

Who am I? The crowning glory of the creation of God. Why am I here? To bring glory and honour to the Lord Jesus Christ. What is wrong with the world? Me, and everyone like me, who refuse to acknowledge the supremacy of Christ and live in pursuit of the supremacy of self. How can what is wrong be made right? Through the penal, substitutionary atoning death of the Son of God, and through the repentance and faith on the part of sinners.

You juxtapose these two worldviews (Christ’s and the world’s) and something very interesting happens. On the one hand you are left empty, and hopeless. On the one hand man is left worthless. On the one hand, you are left to pursue your own satisfaction and never find it. And on the other, you are precious. You have purpose. But you are powerless – but it’s OK. Because you are purchased. This is the supremacy of Christ in truth, in a post-modern world. As we walk through the highways and byways and look into the lifeless eyes of the individuals who have bought the lie, let us rest assured that we have found the answer, and we are possessed by the answer. The answer is Christ, and His supremacy in truth.

Voddie Baucham.
An excerpt of The Supremacy of Christ from the 2006 Desiring God conference.
Click here to listen to the full talk.

