Wait, what am I DOING?!

Some readers might know that since September I have ended my relationship with education. After fourteen-or-so years, it was obvious the only place we were headed was indebtedness to the government and a greater collection of skills that were yet to be employed in any money-making way.

Crowded Oxford St

And so, as hard as it was, I decided to finish studying at the end of my graphics course – for now – and plunge myself into something better.

I’m still delaying the money-making though – salaries are soo over-rated.

So… What are you doing then?

I’m still living in London, but I’m doing something that’s called ‘FP’, or ‘Impact’ (or any combination of the two). It’s a year-long training program run by New Frontiers, where I intern with a New Frontiers church (eg. my church) and get a week of Bible teaching every month in the mix. It’s awesome.

What does that entail?

So my Bible training consists of a whole load of teaching by guest speakers… NT and OT history, the doctrine of creation/Holy Spirit/God/scripture/Christ…. etc. I haven’t memorised all of them. Additionally,there are assignments to complete every month.

On the other side of things, my internship at Revelation Church encompasses two roles – ‘design/media/creative’ person and ‘kids outreach’ person. The first one is pretty self-explanatory – it involves lots of pretty things on computers – but the second less so. In short: our church is surrounded by estates full of kids who don’t know Jesus, and every week we run an awesome kidswork/Sunday school all about Jesus. Basically, my job is to get the former to the latter. With a little help from my friends.

Anything else I should know?

Yes – I’m moving! For the last two years my parents have graciously up-sized their abode in London to make space for me, and I am eternally grateful. However, it now feels time to move out again and let them downsize, so a couple church friends and I are searching for a place…

But not just any place! Nope, we’re looking for somewhere on a particular estate that a group from church have been visiting every week to do youth outreach. To potentially have a bigger impact there, three of us have decided that moving onto the estate will help us massively in developing relationships with those who live there – all for the Kingdom.

That’s all for now!

I hope it all made sense – you can always get in touch if you need to know more.

