Tiny book digest – blogs for 10.2.13

I don’t read as many books as I used to. While unpacking my books last September, some I hadn’t read, most had a bookmark partway in before it had been abandoned, a few I’d never attempted and the rest, which I had read, were mainly fiction.

Initially, I felt a little challenged. Books are good, and I know that when I read a book I find myself really inspired! Later on, I realised that I do read. A lot. It’s just that what I read isn’t in book form – they’re blog posts, online articles. And I’ve found a lot of fantastic, edifying, challenging things on the internet, and I thought maybe I’d share it with anyone else who might be interested in brief helpful bits of joy.

Jelly-fish Christians Think this was a 21st century term? Actually, no – although J.C Ryle’s 19th-century description applies just as much today. Sadly.

I simply hate life – A beautiful testimony from Tim Challies’ mother.

Follow me“I am burdened by how we have taken the costly command of Christ to go, baptize, and teach all nations, and turned it into a comfortable call for Christians to come, be baptized, and sit in one location.”

Women on the front line – “I am not interested in risking men’s lives so I can live my selfish dream.”

An open letter to my pro-choice neighbour – A helpful read, though be wise about sharing it with pro-choice friends.

